Summer_01

Summer’s here 2018!

Image: A summer day in Grange-in-Borrowdale, looking toward Skiddaw. Mark Gilligan Wastwater Photography

Spend part of your summer in our beautiful World Heritage Site and you’ll be spoilt for choice on things to do, whatever the weather.

Here’s some ideas for you to get planning your next trip!

1. To 2 September 2018: Kids of all ages are loving the next version of  ‘Where is Peter Rabbit?’ at the World of Beatrix Potter in Bowness.

2.  Join the National Trust and support conservation in the Lake District. There’s always lots going on at all their places year round, but summer is even more special with family activities and the chance to stay outside for longer days, and lighter evenings. Check things out here.

You’ll also enjoy free parking at all NT Car Parks, and free entrance to all their places – from Townend in Troutbeck, to Sizergh Castle in Kendal; Wray Castle, the huge gothic castle near Ambleside and Bridge House, Ambleside – possibly the smallest house in the world? And of course find out all about Beatrix Potter at Hill Top and the Beatrix Potter Gallery.

Going further north, head for Acorn Bank near Penrith, Wordsworth House Cockermouth, Allan Bank, Grasmere.

July

Sunday 22 July: Ulverston Canal Summer Gala

Wednesday 25 July: Ulverston and North Lonsdale Agricultural Show

Thursday 26 July: Ambleside Sports

Thursday 26 to Sunday 29 July: Kendal Calling – Lowther, near Penrith

Saturday 4 August: : Cockermouth and District Agricultural Show

Saturday 28 to Sunday 29 July: Cumbria Steam Gathering

Saturday 28 July to Friday 10 August: Lake District Summer Music International Festival

Kirkstone Pass – high summer  by Mark Gilligan, Wastwater Photography.

August

Various dates in August: Summer evening Cruise on Windermere Lake Cruises
Various dates in August: Fish & Chip Supper Cruise on Ullswater Steamers

Wednesday 1 August: Cartmel Show

Thursday 9 August: Lake District Sheep Dog Trials, Ings near Windermere

Saturday 11 to Sunday 12 August: Lowther Show – Penrith

Friday 3 to Sunday 5 August: Lake District Folk Weekend, Staveley

18 August: Gosforth Show

19 August: Lakeland Country fair, Torver, near Coniston

Keswick Agricultural Show: 27 August

Tuesday 21 August: Hawkshead Show

Sunday 26 August: Grasmere Sports

Monday 27 August: Blackcombe Country Fair

Wednesday 29 August: Ennerdale Show

Ennerdale Water

So if you’re up here for a short break, or your main summer holidays, there’s absolutely loads to do, and many of these days out are free, or low cost.

Get yourself out to one of the local shows or fairs, have a wander around and get to know the Cumbrian culture and way of life, and of course, sample some of our amazing food and drink – all in the most beautiful setting of the newest World Heritage Site in the UK.

Just make sure you pack for all weathers, and you’ll be fine.

We never let a bit of rain stop play…

Ullswater Steamers by Mark Littlejohn