Roe Deer

Limefitt Park

Based on 54 reviews

< Swipe or press to view images >

Lodge Overview

Bedrooms 2
Sleeps 4
Dog Friendly Yes
Style Modern

Two Bedroom Holiday Lodge (with Hot Tub)

Roe Deer is a modern lodge in the Kirkstone area of Limefitt Park backing on to a small copse of trees adjacent to the playing fields. It is ideal for either families or couples and will sleep up to 4 people.

The Lodge is bright and airy with full central heating and double glazing ensuring a very comfortable stay all year round. Outside there is an extended private deck.

Dog friendly – 1 family dog welcome

Need to Know

  • The spacious and bright open plan living and dining area is semi divided from kitchen. Furniture includes a fabric corner sofa and two Ikea-style reading chairs.
  • Modern dining table with 4 chairs. There is a wall mounted 32″ flat screen TV and DVD player. (A selection of DVDs can be hired from the shop at reception).
  • Kitchen: The well equipped and appointed fitted kitchen includes a gas hob and electric oven, integrated fridge and freezer, slim dishwasher, microwave, kettle and toaster with ample cutlery and crockery plus plenty of generous storage space.
  • Two Bedrooms both with fitted wardrobes and drawers.
  • The master bedroom has a king sized bed, and an en-suite shower room with toilet and basin.
  • The second bedroom is a twin with narrow beds (2 foot 6 inch width).
  • Bathroom: The family bathroom has a full sized bath and over bath shower, vanity unit and toilet, and shaving point.
  • Outside: there is a private and extended sun deck backing onto a small copse with the playing fields just beyond with views of the Troutbeck Valley.
  • There is a recently installed private and sunken jacuzzi hot tub.
  • An outdoor lounge set for relaxing and taking in the lovely outdoor views.
  • A slab is provided for use with disposable barbecues.
  • Parking space adjacent to lodge for 2 cars.

Reviews

Overall Rating

3.5

out of 5

Roe Deer Lodge - Kirkstone 28. Not 5 stars

I booked and stayed at this lodge through Lakedistrict holidays. We found the park without difficulty, the setting / location itself is magnificent. Upon arrival to the park we reported to reception where a friendly staff member gave us instructions, directions and general information. The lodge on the whole was well presented (asides from some points raised below) and our experience was enjoyable. The sunken hot tub is a fantastic feature and adds to the enjoyment. The lodge is nicely decorated with a functional kitchen. This was a dog friendly cabin, it was secure with a fence and gate there is ample room for dogs to play around the lodge however, there is also a dog field a couple of minutes walk from the lodge. Windermere town is about a 15 minute drive from the park. Here you have supermarkets the biggest one being Booths, restaurants, coffee shops etc. You can also arrange cruises / boat excursions. Now onto the negatives, When we entered the lodge there was a TP Link router which despite all our efforts we could not connect to. As reception was closed by this time, we left it until the morning after to report it. There was a different staff member who was not at all helpful. He said that the park did not keep passwords and would have to try and contact the lodge owner and to report back later. We done this and he said he tried to call them once and left a message as there was no answer. (He really did not care at all) This meant we had no WiFi for the duration of the stay other than the park hotspots which you are lucky if you get more than one page loaded on. On the booking website, it said all towels are provided for the duration of the stay. However, this is not true, they do indeed provide one bath towel and one hand towel per guest, but they do not provide any for use of the hot tub. In addition to this, considering you're asked to shower before and after every use of the hot tub, and I like I imagine many others shower after coming back from the muddy walks along the lakes, then another for my general daytime shower, that one towel becomes very wet and in need of a change. You are however, only provided with one towel for the duration of your stay. The information provided in the manual conflicts vs the information given in the instruction email which can cause confusion. Also, there was a plastic wallet with a document inside which asked us to leave feedback and also, to fill out a form if there were any problems or faults. These documents were nowhere to be found in the lodge. There were however, some faults: · Above the back door (outside) there were two spot lights which do not work · The back door does not fully lock whether from the inside or the outside · The floor lamp by the back door sparked for no reason · The oven does not seem to get very hot despite being on the hottest setting · There was a nail sticking out from the plinth next to the freezer in the kitchen · The integrated fridge door has come away from the fridge itself · The white chairs in the living room are covered in stains Whilst these may seem like minor points / nitpicking, when a holiday park advertises a 5-star rating, and charges the price of one, you certainly do not expect to find these problems. Upon investigation, I have seen other reviews of a very similar nature from different time periods, so it does seem guest's comments are being ignored.

Review date: 19th November 2017

Thank you for your review, Ryan. Firstly our apologies that a few things were not quite to your satisfaction, although you kindly point out the location is magnificent. We have noted your comments and have already responded to you directly with our findings and to clear up any issues that were of a concern to you. It is particularly disappointing that you told us you chose not to read the information we sent to you clarifying everything about your stay as you thought they were confusing (they specifically mentioned the need for guests to bring their own beach/sports towels when using the hot tub). We feel we should clarify a few things for future guests of Roe Deer. All relevant information regarding a guest stay is highlighted during the online booking process, the FAQs section on our website and included in the arrival information that a guest receives before a stay. We will consider whether we can make things any clearer although this is of no use if guests choose not to read or ignore the information. Similarly you also chose not to contact us about some concerns during your stay although seemed to expect the reception team to deal with these matters (even though our information again makes it clear that you were staying in a privately owned lodge arranged through us as the booking agent). We are sorry for any inconvenience this caused. We apologise further that the Park Reception gave you incorrect information and did not refer the issue to ourselves. We will bring this to the attention of the park manager and we would like to believe it was a one off. We are grateful for you informing us of some maintenance issues which we were not aware of and these have all been addressed.Roe Deer does not have it’s own dedicated wifi connection and we are unsure why there was a TP router in the lodge. We think may have been left behind by a recent guest. It is not part of any Wi-Fi set up at the lodge and it has now been removed. We are sorry for any inconvenience this caused. We are aware that the park’s free wifi can be hit and miss (again as we point out) and from our experience it is usually only good for basic surfing and emails. If an internet connection is a necessity for a stay then we would advise guests to stay in another one of our privately owned lodges with its own dedicated internet access. We appreciate you pointing out a few maintenance issues which we unaware of. These have been checked and addressed accordingly. We provided a feedback sheet in the lodge specifically for this purpose although it was not completed as you left. Limefitt Park has a 5 star Visit Britain Holiday Park assessment although that does not mean that lodges on the site have their own 5 star ratings. Roe Deer does not have an independent star rating although we use an average review score based on guest experiences. We take all feedback very seriously and act quickly to respond to any issues or maintenance needed. In addition to passing on concerns and suggestions to lodge owners who are responsible for the facilities and condition of the lodge. Roe Deer is a hugely popular, comfortable lodge with the benefit of a relaxing hot tub offering a great value stay all year round. It is a perfect base when wishing to spend time outdoors enjoying the beauty of Lake District.

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays, November 2017

Overall Rating

4.5

out of 5

Roe deer lodge

Well maintained and clean. Perfect size and amazing value, it’s in the perfect location. Lots of essentials are provided such as towels, soap, washing up liquid and a few more, which was much apprieciated. Hot tub could have been cleaner but on a whole I will defiantly book again

Review date: 12th November 2017

Thank you for taking time to leave a review, Derri. It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Roe Deer, it is a super lodge and beautifully presented for guests to simply relax and unwind in comfort. We note your comments regarding the hot tub and we apologise that it appeared not to be as clean as expected although we can assure you the health and safety of our guests is a priority and the hot tub was serviced on the day of your arrival and is maintained to current industry standards by an independent contractor – please note for future stays that should you have any concerns during your stay we can gladly arrange a servicing contractor to check the tub for you. Thank you for letting us know you will be booking again and very kind of you to recommend this lodge to others. Roe Deer offers peace and tranquillity, amazing views as well as comfortable accommodation with a private hot tub. A wonderful holiday retreat.

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays, November 2017

Overall Rating

4.8

out of 5

Fabulous stay

We had a fabulous stay at roe deer x no concerns or issues, really nice spacious lodge fully equipped with everything we needed,

Review date: 10th November 2017

Thank you for your kind comments, Debbie. We were delighted to hear you had a fantastic stay and very pleasing to know that everything was to your satisfaction. Roe Deer is a modern two bedroom lodge with hot tub, beautifully presented and well equipped for guests to relax in comfort. We look forward to you returning in the near future (complete with your loyalty discount!).

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays, November 2017

Overall Rating

2.7

out of 5

Not bad not the best

We visited re deer lodge for my daughters first birthday. Would like to start by saying we had a lovely time and really enjoyed our stay, we did have some issues, the markings on the oven dials had faded so we didn’t have a clue how to turn it on or how to set the temperature, the cupboard door was hanging off and wouldn’t stay shut, the chair in the living room was badly stained and there wasn’t enough hangers. The tv wasnt much either. The kitchen was well equipped and clean when we arrived, hot tub was lots of fun, bathroom was nice and spacious. The lodge was lovely and warm with good heating system.

Review date: 30th October 2017

Thank you for your review of Roe Deer. We were pleased to hear you had a really enjoyable stay although we apologise there were a few things not quite to your satisfaction. The oven dial is now clearly marked – thank you for making us aware. The cupboard door is fixed. New hangers have also been put into the lodge and the upholstery chair has been cleaned. Thank you for bringing these to our attention and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. Had you contacted us during your stay we would have gladly rectified these things for you. With regard to the TV we have passed on your comment to the lodge owners for their reference, although a full description of the lodge is available to view on our website and is encouraged before booking with us. Roe Deer is hugely popular for those looking for a relaxing and peaceful stay in a beautiful location - with the added bonus of a hot tub. A perfect place to unwind and enjoy a little ones birthday - and glad to hear the hot tub was such fun! We are sure that should you choose to stay again you will find everything to your satisfaction.

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays, November 2017

Overall Rating

5

out of 5

Great time, loved our stay

Really enjoyed our stayed, lodge and hit tub were fantastic. Great for having the dog and very comfortable. Will stay again.

Review date: 29th October 2017

Overall Rating

4.8

out of 5

Feels like home!

Our second visit to Roe Deer and enjoyed it as much as the first time, it really is a home from home!

Review date: 12th October 2017

Thank you for your kind comments, Ian. We are delighted to hear you had another enjoyable stay at Roe Deer. Modern, cosy and well-equipped accommodation with a hot tub. Very inviting after a walk up Helvellyn! We look forward to you returning for a third visit very soon.

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays, October 2017

Overall Rating

4.3

out of 5

Family weekend break

Out first visit to Limmfitt Park. Nice site with good facilites. Good location to explore the lakes.

Review date: 24th September 2017

Overall Rating

4.5

out of 5

Great value for money... But just a few improvements needed!

To start, the location of our lodge was beautiful, surrounded by lovely views on all sides. On the booking it said there was room for two cars... not really though, so if the two car you're taking are huge, I'd maybe rethink the parking. On arrival the lodge was mostly clean but lost of tiny dead flies on the windowsill in the kitchen. The bedrooms and bathrooms were great, comfortable and very clean! Living area was smart, clean and comfy. Decking area was tidy and hottub nice and clean! I feel that the welcome folder needs updating!! We found other peoples booking information in there and it just looked old and needs an update. The instructions for the hottub aren't great! We assumed it would stay hot unless we changed the settings but when we can to use it on the second day the temperature had dropped down a fair bit and when we called reception we got told that it goes into sleep mode... this isn't in the instructions. The pub on site is great, food is good and the management team are really lovely!! It's a shame though that it can get super busy with not enough staff which resulted in the kitchen being closed for an hour during service time! We were lucky and ordered beforehand but we felt bad for the young families coming in for food and having to wait around with young children. All in all the site is fantastic and staff are very helpful! We had a lovely stay and didn't want to come home!

Review date: 15th September 2017

Thank you for your review Emma. We were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay although we are sorry there were a few things not quite as expected. We will look into the issues raised and if necessary amend and update the information accordingly, as well as passing on your comments about the onsite pub to the park management. We have also passed on your cleaning comments to the housekeepers responsible for the lodge. It is unusual to receive such comments and we are sure it was a one off although please accept our apologies. There are two parking spaces although as you rightly point out two ‘huge’ cars may be a little tricky. We recommend using the additional parking at reception after dropping luggage off at the lodge. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Very kind of you to let us know you went on to have a lovely stay at Roe Deer. Beautiful accommodation, hot tub and amazing views. Perhaps worth a return visit?

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays, October 2017

Overall Rating

4.7

out of 5

Roedeer

Beautiful location and beautiful lodge. Also enjoyed the pop up cinema and the lady singing. Gorgeous scenary . The lodge is very nice although could do with the carpets being cleaned. All in all a lovely stay.

Review date: 02nd September 2017

Overall Rating

4.7

out of 5

Home from home lodge!

I stayed here with my husband and 2 young teenage children. The lodge really was home from home, every facility catered for from kitchen utensils to bedding, there wasn't anything that I needed that I couldn't find. The beds were really comfy and having 2 showers to use was a great bonus. There was even books and jigsaws for a rainy day and food and water bowls for the dog. There isn't a washing machine but there is a launderette on site if you really want to do washing on your holiday? There is a under counter fridge and a 3 draw freezer so I could stock up. The decking area is very spacious with outdoor furniture and was enclosed so the dog couldn't get out. This is a lovely lodge with fantastic views all around.

Review date: 18th August 2017

See 44 more reviews for Roe Deer

Location

About Limefitt Park

Limefitt is one of the Lake District’s most stunningly situated holiday parks. Set in the beautiful Troutbeck Valley, it is some three miles north of Windermere on the Ullswater road in the direction of Kirkstone Pass. This superb location has beautiful views and direct access to the fells.

For more detailed information about Limefitt Park please Click here.

Lodge Position