“We couldn't find the property initially which took some time to locate.”
I don't think the sign posts helped as they were sending us one way and the lodge was in another direction. When we saw it, we kept writing it off as we GENUINELY thought it was derelict! That is how the property looks - derelict! We eventually realised it was our lodge. We were horrified. Half the decking is destroyed as well as the outdoor table and chairs. It is barriered off but why this has been left as it is, I will never know. If this was my property that people are *paying* to stay at, I ...
I don't think the sign posts helped as they were sending us one way and the lodge was in another direction. When we saw it, we kept writing it off as we GENUINELY thought it was derelict! That is how the property looks - derelict! We eventually realised it was our lodge. We were horrified. Half the decking is destroyed as well as the outdoor table and chairs. It is barriered off but why this has been left as it is, I will never know. If this was my property that people are *paying* to stay at, I would have had this cleared up instantly. It is an absolute mess. Shame I can't attach photos here. When we got inside, it is lovely inside, however the cleaning standards are somewhat to be desired (being polite). As we entered, I took off my shoes and started moving our belongings around, I kept standing on food (yuck) and the kitchen floor was sticky. So before unpacking I was on my hands and knees cleaning the floor. When I vacuumed I realised the vacuum is dire which could be part of the problem, however, I don't erase all responsibility from the cleaners as we found many disgusting items that we had to clean ourselves. A pan, container, kitchen doors etc. The blankets and cushion covers were filthy so I removed them and placed them with the dirty towels on our departure to push the cleaners to wash them so that the next guest doesn't have to endure the filth. Also to note, we had filthy windows, a dirty oven and filthy oven trays, and a broken bin. When I was vacuuming we also noticed, as my daughter nearly stood on it, was a large nail on the carpet!
Another main complain was the hot water in that there wasn't any! We called an engineer out but he showed more interest in exiting the property than resolving the issue. We had hot water intermittently after this, which we survived with - tip - turn the heating off to get a better chance of getting hot water, even if it is for a short period of time. He told us basically that it was a glorified shed and what did we expect - well for £200 a night I do expect hot water funnily enough!!!!
I have since read the reviews on here which I wish I had done before booking. I agree with the lady that stayed before us who complained about the boiler noise and the hot tub noise - it is continuous throughout the night.
I am really sorry to say this, but please don't waste your money here, it simply isn't worth it. Put it somewhere else where you will get what your money pays for, as this isn't it.
Lastly, I wouldn't massively rate the complex either sadly. We didn't eat there (it didn't look appetising) so I couldn't comment but I saw one lady running around all by herself in the restaurant so I had to wait 10 minutes just to get change from her. The bar was filthy and sticky. The arcade has more toy claw games (the rip off ones) than actual games. The receptionist misinformed us so we ended up buying a swimming pass only to be told this wasn't valid for the pool party we had shown up for (despite my husband checking with her before we went) so had to pay for the pool party session on top, all in all £50 just to go swimming. When we got there, they would only let us in at 1pm - when the session starts, so by the time we got changed and put our belongings in the RIDICULOUSLY small lockers, we had lost 10 minutes. Their clock is 5 minutes fast so they kicked us out early, meaning we paid £50 for 15 minutes of swim when we should have had 30 minutes. They should have let us in early to get changed, even if they don't let you in the pool beforehand that is fine, but then to kick us out early on top, having already been ripped off, we weren't impressed whatsoever.
Having booked this for my 40th, we made it what we could. But it was a huge disappointment.
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.
The main area of decking with the hot tub was not affected but Unfortunately, a tree behind the lodge lost a limb the previous week during a storm and damaged the area holding the outside furniture. The contractors were appointed and made this area safe, and the damaged decking is being completely replaced this coming week.
I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the lodge and we are addressing this with the cleaning team and arranging a deep clean prior to any further bookings.
Woodland Retreat is a very popular lodge in a great location surrounded by wildlife, having lots of happy returning guests.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
unhappy with the cleanliness and I've addressed this with our cleaning team