Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 17 minutes ago

Woodland Retreat

Skiptory Howe 41A, White Cross Bay near Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1119388)

4.1

Lake District Lodge Holidays rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance

* Based on a combined average customer score

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

14 Customer Review(s)

  • Emily

    “We couldn't find the property initially which took some time to locate.”

    I don't think the sign posts helped as they were sending us one way and the lodge was in another direction. When we saw it, we kept writing it off as we GENUINELY thought it was derelict! That is how the property looks - derelict! We eventually realised it was our lodge. We were horrified. Half the decking is destroyed as well as the outdoor table and chairs. It is barriered off but why this has been left as it is, I will never know. If this was my property that people are *paying* to stay at, I ...

    I don't think the sign posts helped as they were sending us one way and the lodge was in another direction. When we saw it, we kept writing it off as we GENUINELY thought it was derelict! That is how the property looks - derelict! We eventually realised it was our lodge. We were horrified. Half the decking is destroyed as well as the outdoor table and chairs. It is barriered off but why this has been left as it is, I will never know. If this was my property that people are *paying* to stay at, I would have had this cleared up instantly. It is an absolute mess. Shame I can't attach photos here. When we got inside, it is lovely inside, however the cleaning standards are somewhat to be desired (being polite). As we entered, I took off my shoes and started moving our belongings around, I kept standing on food (yuck) and the kitchen floor was sticky. So before unpacking I was on my hands and knees cleaning the floor. When I vacuumed I realised the vacuum is dire which could be part of the problem, however, I don't erase all responsibility from the cleaners as we found many disgusting items that we had to clean ourselves. A pan, container, kitchen doors etc. The blankets and cushion covers were filthy so I removed them and placed them with the dirty towels on our departure to push the cleaners to wash them so that the next guest doesn't have to endure the filth. Also to note, we had filthy windows, a dirty oven and filthy oven trays, and a broken bin. When I was vacuuming we also noticed, as my daughter nearly stood on it, was a large nail on the carpet! Another main complain was the hot water in that there wasn't any! We called an engineer out but he showed more interest in exiting the property than resolving the issue. We had hot water intermittently after this, which we survived with - tip - turn the heating off to get a better chance of getting hot water, even if it is for a short period of time. He told us basically that it was a glorified shed and what did we expect - well for £200 a night I do expect hot water funnily enough!!!! I have since read the reviews on here which I wish I had done before booking. I agree with the lady that stayed before us who complained about the boiler noise and the hot tub noise - it is continuous throughout the night. I am really sorry to say this, but please don't waste your money here, it simply isn't worth it. Put it somewhere else where you will get what your money pays for, as this isn't it. Lastly, I wouldn't massively rate the complex either sadly. We didn't eat there (it didn't look appetising) so I couldn't comment but I saw one lady running around all by herself in the restaurant so I had to wait 10 minutes just to get change from her. The bar was filthy and sticky. The arcade has more toy claw games (the rip off ones) than actual games. The receptionist misinformed us so we ended up buying a swimming pass only to be told this wasn't valid for the pool party we had shown up for (despite my husband checking with her before we went) so had to pay for the pool party session on top, all in all £50 just to go swimming. When we got there, they would only let us in at 1pm - when the session starts, so by the time we got changed and put our belongings in the RIDICULOUSLY small lockers, we had lost 10 minutes. Their clock is 5 minutes fast so they kicked us out early, meaning we paid £50 for 15 minutes of swim when we should have had 30 minutes. They should have let us in early to get changed, even if they don't let you in the pool beforehand that is fine, but then to kick us out early on top, having already been ripped off, we weren't impressed whatsoever. Having booked this for my 40th, we made it what we could. But it was a huge disappointment.

    - Emily, February 2024

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The main area of decking with the hot tub was not affected but Unfortunately, a tree behind the lodge lost a limb the previous week during a storm and damaged the area holding the outside furniture. The contractors were appointed and made this area safe, and the damaged decking is being completely replaced this coming week. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the lodge and we are addressing this with the cleaning team and arranging a deep clean prior to any further bookings. Woodland Retreat is a very popular lodge in a great location surrounded by wildlife, having lots of happy returning guests. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. unhappy with the cleanliness and I've addressed this with our cleaning team Property Owner

Summary

  • Single-storey
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x bunk beds (suitable for children only)
  • This lodge sleeps 4 adults and 2 children only
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, and WC
  • Cloakroom
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • The decking is surrounded by woodland plus an Oak and Yew Tree, you will find debris will fall.Usage of the hot tub is between 10am and 10pm only.
  • Central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, and dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Private wraparound decking with furniture and hot tub
  • Two well-behaved dog allowed, more on request
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 miles, pub on-site, lake 0.6 miles
  • Note: Check-in is from 4pm, check-out at 10am
  • Note: The on-site bar and restaurant is dog friendly
  • Note: Guests can purchase a leisure pass from reception to access the on-site leisure facilities, including an indoor swimming pool
  • Note: A kids club and an adventure playground are on offer at an additional charge
  • Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park
  • If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact White Cross Bay reception
  • Access to the local leisure facilities is complimentary and can be withdrawn at any time without financial penalty, we as the letting agent or the property owner cannot be held responsible for this provision in service, as it’s subject to third-party provider located off site.

The property

This beautiful single-story holiday lodge, Woodland Retreat, is perched upon White Cross Bay Holiday Park in the serene area near Troutbeck Bridge in Cumbria. As the name implies, this home is surrounded by the beauty of the nearby woodland. It has a private wraparound deck with a hot tub, an expansive living area, and is close to amenities and attractions, making it the perfect hideaway for six people and their four-legged companion in Cumbria. After unloading in the off-road parking space, head toward your new home while enjoying the view from the comfort of your own private terrace. Once inside, walk through the kitchen door to find all the necessary appliances to make your self-catered stay successful. Enjoy mealtimes at the dining table or head outside to enjoy a feast alfresco with the lovely surroundings in your backdrop. Nearby, find the sitting room where you can unwind in the warmth of an electric fire and enjoy a movie or two while using the Smart TV. When it gets dark outside, retire to one of the three exquisitely furnished bedrooms, which include two doubles and an adult bunk room. After finishing your morning routine in the spacious shower room, take a leisurely stroll across the area, arriving to the sites facilities, including a leisure centre, indoor swimming pool and children's play area. A family day out at Brockhole on Windermere, which offers wonderful dining, go-karting, archery, and treetop climbs, is sure to thrill visitors of all ages. Holehird Gardens is also nearby, where you can tour the grounds and take in the variety of animals on offer. Travel to Windermere and take a stroll up Queen Adelaide's Hill to take in the stunning views, practise your swing at Windermere Golf Club, or stop by The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction, which features exhibits about the beloved children's author. You can also sail to Ambleside where you’ll find a fascinating 2nd-century Roman Fort and the stunning Stock Ghyll Force. Discover Wordsworth Grasmere, an intriguing museum in Grasmere that is devoted to the life and works of the well-known poet, before spending the day at Rydal Cave and having a picnic in the tranquil surroundings of Rydal Mount and Gardens. Woodland Retreat is the perfect base for a family holiday in The Lake District National Park.

Please note: Due to the size of the bunks, this property allows four adults and two children only

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

WINDERMERE

Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

Please note: this lodge sleeps 4 adults and 2 children. The bunk beds are only suitable for children.

Woodland Retreat is accessed by 6 steps. The lodge is then all on the same ground floor level.

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £200 for this property.

Please note, charging of electric vehicles is not permitted in this lodge. The nearest charging point can be found at Booths Supermarket in Windermere.

Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park. If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact White Cross Bay reception.

Park Rules and Operations – White Cross Bay

All holiday parks are owned and managed by a separate company to ourselves. Lake District Lodge Holidays has no association with the owners of these parks or responsibility for the provision of services they offer. At certain times of year, there maybe a reduction in those services, which is outside of our control.

Commercial vehicles, caravans, camper vans, Hen or Stag parties are not permitted onsite. Dogs must be kept on leads at all times and are not be left alone in the lodges at any point during your stay.

You will be staying on an operational holiday park, which means work may be undertaken from time to time by the park owners during your stay. Although Lake District Lodge Holidays will always try to inform guests in advance if something may impact on a stay and if we have prior knowledge. We cannot be held responsible or accept any liability for park operations of which are outside of our control and which we have no knowledge of.

Any issues relating to a stay at a privately owned lodge should be reported back through Lake District Lodge Holidays as the park are not responsible for managing the lodge or booking for private sublet guests during their stay.


Hot Tubs

For the comfort of other holidays guests we request that noise is kept to a minimum. Usage of the hot tub is between 10am and 10pm only. If you are found to breach these timings then you may be asked to vacate the park with no call for a refund.

All hot tubs are maintained to strict industry standards and HSE guidelines by separate qualified independent contractors on behalf of the property owners. This includes changing the water between guest stays and checking the water condition on a regular basis.

Whilst every effort is made to have a hot tub ready for immediate use by the arrival time stated, this may not always be possible. In such cases the hot tub will usually be ready to use later that day unless otherwise advised. In such cases no compensation or refund is payable unless the hot tub is faulty.

Information about using a hot tub safely is provided at all lodges with a hot tub and on a prominent notice near the tub. All hot tub users should wear an appropriate bathing suit. Usage of a hot tub is at a guests own risk and Lake District Lodge Holidays accepts no liability for anything which may happen to a guest as a direct result of using a hot tub.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Christmas