Elder Lodge

Kirkstone 5, Limefitt Park near Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1068823)

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Hot Tub Hot tub
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

* Based on a combined average customer score

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

93 Customer Review(s)

  • Mrs Baker

    “Having stayed here several times we were so excited to come back.”

    It has always been our favourite lodge and we were disappointed we missed out on availability last year and had to book an alternative however we have been left disappointed this time. The lodge is starting to look tired and there are 2 great big dips in the floor (one in the hall and one in the main bedroom). There was no welcome pack. 2 years ago the children received selection boxes and we were left biscuits and wine, nothing this year and no information booklet, which I was told had been ...

    It has always been our favourite lodge and we were disappointed we missed out on availability last year and had to book an alternative however we have been left disappointed this time. The lodge is starting to look tired and there are 2 great big dips in the floor (one in the hall and one in the main bedroom). There was no welcome pack. 2 years ago the children received selection boxes and we were left biscuits and wine, nothing this year and no information booklet, which I was told had been removed due to covid but as everything else was still there, it was pointless really. The children were disappointed that the tree didn’t work ie it didn’t light up. I did report this and someone came to look at it but a few hours later it was broken again and never worked the entire stay. The blankets left on the couch clearly hadn’t been washed as they stunk of dogs. There was a blanket in the second room wardrobe too the same. We know it’s a dog friendly lodge but we’ve never had this before. There were only coasters on the table in a lodge for 4 and only 3 big plates. There were no robes and slippers in the bathroom as pictured in the listing. The water dispenser in the fridge was broken (missing the inside tube) . The remote buttons weren’t working properly. We couldn’t change sound or turn channel down, only up on most occasions. The children found this most annoying. The speaker bar is broken so had to have volume low or put up with the echo it created. One day we tried one of the lodge games kerplunk to find it was all broken and had been taped together in many places. We were told there was a site WiFi but we could only every occasionally access the bar one and sometimes another lodge’s. It wasn’t strong enough to be able to sign in to Netflix or to stream anything. We went to choices health club but they had issues with the boiler so the pool was 35 degrees which was far too hot for a swim. We were disappointed to find the pub had closed for the season when we visited on 2nd January. Nobody had informed us of this and all the signage just stated the Christmas new year openings and no mention of closing. Sadly after 8 years of booking with Lake District lodge holidays, we will not be returning next year . The prices are insane and I have no confidence in the standard of accommodation after issues with cleanliness last year and now feeling disappointed this year with what really was our happy place.

    - Mrs Baker, December 2021

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay in Elder Lodge this time. Noting your comments on the floor and issues with some of the equipment, this will be passed to our maintenance team who will look into these. We are sorry you had problems with the Christmas tree lights, we will advise the owner of this and advise they may need to look into replacing these. Noting the cleaning issues, these have been reported to our Head Housekeeper who will speak with the cleaner. These comments are most unusual for Elder Lodge and it will be monitored more closely from now on. We are sorry to hear you were unable to use Choices Health Club to its maximum and the opening times of The Haybarn, unfortunately this is outside of our control and we are not responsible for the availability of these facilities. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay, we take all feedback very seriously and we will act on everything you have said. Our prices are constantly under review and we would be more than happy to help locate you another stay for New Year 2022. Naturally there are increases in prices year on year and since your booking was processed in 2020, there has been two pricing increases since then. Elder Lodge is a fantastic 2 bedroom lodge, ideal for families and dog walkers! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future and we do hope you will return. Property Owner

The property

Welcome to Elder, a two bedroom dog friendly holiday lodge with hot tub Elder Lodge is beautifully decorated, modern, spacious and situated in an elevated position at Limefitt Park. It enjoys lovely views across the park to the fells beyond. Complete with hot tub, Elder offers a comfortable and relaxing stay. The lodge is located close to the Haybarn Pub and is ideal for families or couples sleeping up to 4 guests plus an infant in a travel cot. Popular amongst guests, Elder Lodge is a great place to stay for an unforgettable holiday in the Lake District. The lodge welcomes 2 dogs. Accommodation Details Living area: - Utility room with washer dryer, sink unit and storage - a great space for sorting out pooch! - Bright and spacious open plan lounge, kitchen and dining area - Lounge has a 2 and 3 seater leather sofa - Feature electric 'glow effect' fire - For your entertainment there is a 48" wall mounted flat screen TV with sound bar, Blu ray DVD player, hifi system, hard drive with new and classic films - Dining area with table and 4 chairs Kitchen area: - Superbly equipped fitted kitchen which includes a built in double electric oven, gas hob and microwave - American style fridge/freezer with water chiller - Integrated dishwasher - Kettle, toaster plus ample cutlery, crockery, pots and pans plus plenty of storage space - Breakfast bar with stools Master bedroom: - The master bedroom has a king size bed and walk in wardrobe - Velux windows with blackout blinds - Wall mounted TV - Jack and Jill en suite bathroom Second bedroom: - Second twin bedroom has full size single beds (which can be joined to form a super king sized bed on request) - Velux window with blackout blind - Wall mounted TV - Walk through wardrobe leading to an en suite shower room with corner shower cubicle Bathroom: - Family bathroom (doubling as en suite to the master bedroom) - Full size Jacuzzi bath with shower, fitted furniture, basin and toilet Especially for the 4 legged family member: - Dog towels, toys, poo bags and other doggy goodies are provided Other information: - Full central heating and double glazing ensuring a comfortable stay all year round

Summary

  • All single storey sleeping 4 in two bedrooms: 1 x king size bed with Jack and Jill en-suite bathroom featuring full size jacuzzi bath and overhead shower, basin and W/C, 1 x Twin bedroom ( can be joined as a King if preferred) with en-suite shower corner shower sink and W/C
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire, private decking with hot tub
  • Two dogs welcome and dog towels are provided.
  • Full gas central heating
  • Double electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer with water chiller, dishwasher.washer dryer, electric fire,TV with sound bar, Blu ray DVD player, hifi system
  • Hot Tub - to be used between 10am and 10pm only
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels incl in rent (please bring own leisure towels), Parking for two cars
  • Two dogs welcome, additional dogs can be arranged by calling to confirm
  • Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park
  • If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact Limefitt Park reception.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

Calculate your drive time

Enter your postcode to see an estimate of how long it will take you to drive to the property

About the location

WINDERMERE

Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

Elder is accessed by 4 steps. The lodge is then all on the same ground floor level.

A travel cot will fit in the twin bedroom only. Please bring your own travel cot and highchair as they are not provided.

The twin beds in the second bedroom can be joined to form a super king sized bed on request.

Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park. If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact Limefitt Park reception.

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100 for this property.


Park Rules and Operations – Limefitt

All holiday parks are owned and managed by a separate company to ourselves. Lake District Lodge Holidays has no association with the owners of these parks or responsibility for the provision of services they offer. At certain times of year, there maybe a reduction in those services, which is outside of our control.

Commercial vehicles, caravans, camper vans, Hen or Stag parties are not permitted onsite. Dogs must be kept on leads at all times and are not be left alone in the lodges at any point during your stay.

You will be staying on an operational holiday park, which means work may be undertaken from time to time by the park owners during your stay. Although Lake District Lodge Holidays will always try to inform guests in advance if something may impact on a stay and if we have prior knowledge. We cannot be held responsible or accept any liability for park operations of which are outside of our control and which we have no knowledge of.

Any issues relating to a stay at a privately owned lodge should be reported back through Lake District Lodge Holidays as the park are not responsible for managing the lodge or booking for private sublet guests during their stay.


Hot Tubs

For the comfort of other holidays guests we request that noise is kept to a minimum. Usage of the hot tub is between 10am and 10pm only. If you are found to breach these timings then you may be asked to vacate the park with no call for a refund.

All hot tubs are maintained to strict industry standards and HSE guidelines by separate qualified independent contractors on behalf of the property owners. This includes changing the water between guest stays and checking the water condition on a regular basis.

Whilst every effort is made to have a hot tub ready for immediate use by the arrival time stated, this may not always be possible. In such cases the hot tub will usually be ready to use later that day unless otherwise advised. In such cases no compensation or refund is payable unless the hot tub is faulty.

Information about using a hot tub safely is provided at all lodges with a hot tub and on a prominent notice near the tub. All hot tub users should wear an appropriate bathing suit. Usage of a hot tub is at a guests own risk and Lake District Lodge Holidays accepts no liability for anything which may happen to a guest as a direct result of using a hot tub.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Christmas