“Having stayed here several times we were so excited to come back.”
It has always been our favourite lodge and we were disappointed we missed out on availability last year and had to book an alternative however we have been left disappointed this time. The lodge is starting to look tired and there are 2 great big dips in the floor (one in the hall and one in the main bedroom). There was no welcome pack. 2 years ago the children received selection boxes and we were left biscuits and wine, nothing this year and no information booklet, which I was told had been ...
It has always been our favourite lodge and we were disappointed we missed out on availability last year and had to book an alternative however we have been left disappointed this time. The lodge is starting to look tired and there are 2 great big dips in the floor (one in the hall and one in the main bedroom). There was no welcome pack. 2 years ago the children received selection boxes and we were left biscuits and wine, nothing this year and no information booklet, which I was told had been removed due to covid but as everything else was still there, it was pointless really. The children were disappointed that the tree didn’t work ie it didn’t light up. I did report this and someone came to look at it but a few hours later it was broken again and never worked the entire stay. The blankets left on the couch clearly hadn’t been washed as they stunk of dogs. There was a blanket in the second room wardrobe too the same. We know it’s a dog friendly lodge but we’ve never had this before. There were only coasters on the table in a lodge for 4 and only 3 big plates. There were no robes and slippers in the bathroom as pictured in the listing. The water dispenser in the fridge was broken (missing the inside tube) . The remote buttons weren’t working properly. We couldn’t change sound or turn channel down, only up on most occasions. The children found this most annoying. The speaker bar is broken so had to have volume low or put up with the echo it created. One day we tried one of the lodge games kerplunk to find it was all broken and had been taped together in many places. We were told there was a site WiFi but we could only every occasionally access the bar one and sometimes another lodge’s. It wasn’t strong enough to be able to sign in to Netflix or to stream anything.
We went to choices health club but they had issues with the boiler so the pool was 35 degrees which was far too hot for a swim. We were disappointed to find the pub had closed for the season when we visited on 2nd January. Nobody had informed us of this and all the signage just stated the Christmas new year openings and no mention of closing.
Sadly after 8 years of booking with Lake District lodge holidays, we will not be returning next year . The prices are insane and I have no confidence in the standard of accommodation after issues with cleanliness last year and now feeling disappointed this year with what really was our happy place.
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay in Elder Lodge this time. Noting your comments on the floor and issues with some of the equipment, this will be passed to our maintenance team who will look into these. We are sorry you had problems with the Christmas tree lights, we will advise the owner of this and advise they may need to look into replacing these. Noting the cleaning issues, these have been reported to our Head Housekeeper who will speak with the cleaner. These comments are most unusual for Elder Lodge and it will be monitored more closely from now on. We are sorry to hear you were unable to use Choices Health Club to its maximum and the opening times of The Haybarn, unfortunately this is outside of our control and we are not responsible for the availability of these facilities. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay, we take all feedback very seriously and we will act on everything you have said. Our prices are constantly under review and we would be more than happy to help locate you another stay for New Year 2022. Naturally there are increases in prices year on year and since your booking was processed in 2020, there has been two pricing increases since then. Elder Lodge is a fantastic 2 bedroom lodge, ideal for families and dog walkers! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future and we do hope you will return. Property Owner