Rivendell

White Cross Bay

Based on 74 reviews

< Swipe or press to view images >

Lodge Overview

Bedrooms 3
Sleeps 6
Dog Friendly Yes
Style Modern

Welcome to Rivendell, a three bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub

Rivendell is a modern holiday lodge in a quiet location at White Cross Bay. The lodge is just a short stroll from the marina and lake. A small beck runs in front of the lodge. The hot tub offers a welcome treat after a day exploring the national park. Rivendell is ideal for families or couples sleeping up to 6 guests plus your 4 legged family members!

The lodge welcomes 2 dogs.

Accommodation Details

Living area:

  • Open plan lounge, kitchen and dining area
  • Electric fire
  • 2 and 3 seater leather sofas
  • Wall mounted flat screen TV with integrated DVD player plus a CD player

Kitchen area:

  • The kitchen is separated from the lounge by a galley style worktop
  • Equipment includes a built in electric double oven and gas hob, under counter fridge and freezer, microwave oven, kettle, toaster, dishwasher, plenty of cupboards and storage space as well as cutlery and crockery
  • Dining table with 4 chairs – Please note: There are 2 extra fold away chairs however the table isn’t big enough for 6 people to sit down altogether

Master bedroom:

  • Double bed
  • Fitted wardrobe and cupboards
  • Wall mounted TV with integrated DVD player

Second bedroom:

  • Twin beds
  • Fitted wardrobe and cupboards
  • Wall mounted TV with integrated DVD player

Third bedroom:

  • Twin beds
  • Fitted wardrobe and cupboards
  • Wall mounted TV with integrated DVD player

Family bathroom:

  • Over bath shower, vanity unit, toilet, heated towel rail and shaving point

Other information:

  • Please note: A BBQ is not provided – A slab or base is provided for a BBQ but please bring your own disposable BBQ
  • Full central heating and double glazing ensuring a comfortable stay all year round

Key Information for your Stay

What's included

A fully equipped kitchen for self-catering. All gas and electricity, bed linen and towels. Please bring your own swimming towels when using the hot tub and/or leisure facilities.

Arrival and Departure Time

Standard arrival time from 3 p.m. and departure at 10 a.m. 2 night weekend specials depart at 5 p.m. on Sunday.

Accessibility

Rivendell is accessed by 5 steps. The lodge is then all on the same ground floor level. There are steps to enter the hot tub.

Dogs

The lodge welcomes 2 dogs.

As per our T&Cs all dogs must be over the age of 6 months and fully house trained. Dogs are not allowed to be left unattended under any circumstances or be allowed to sit/sleep on the furniture. There is a £10 supplement per dog, per stay.

Please note: Dogs are not allowed in the clubhouse at White Cross Bay. (They can be taken into the outdoor seating area).

Infants (Up to 24 months)

A travel cot and/or high chair can be hired for £5 per item. The travel cot will fit in the master bedroom only and will be left in the lodge for you to put up. Please bring your own bedding for the travel cot.

Outside Area

The deck is fully enclosed, secure and gated. Please note: A BBQ is not provided – A slab or base is provided for a BBQ but please bring your own disposable BBQ.

There is a spacious deck area with picnic table.

Parking

Parking is available to the front of the lodge for 2 cars.

Leisure Facilities

All stays include FREE use of Choices leisure facilities during your stay (located offsite at Troutbeck Bridge).

Alternatively, White Cross Bay has its own onsite leisure facilities. You will need to purchase a leisure pass from reception which is currently £15 per lodge. This covers everyone staying in the lodge for the duration of your stay.

For more information about leisure facilities please click here.

WiFi

Free WiFi is provided by the park operators.

Any more questions

Please refer to our comprehensive FAQs page or contact us.

Joined Lake District Lodge Holidays

Rivendell Lodge has been rented through us since June 2014.

Reviews

Overall Rating

5

out of 5

Nice place to stay

Stopped here for a week, we had one problem which was sorted within 24 hrs,so cant fault it for customer service .

Review date: 08th July 2019

Thank you for your excellent ratings Keith and your kind comments. We are delighted we were able to resolve things so quickly for you. Rivendell is a modern three-bedroom lodge with a hot tub as a bonus. Just a short stroll from the marina, Rivendell is a welcomed retreat for all guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Romany - Lake District Lodge Holidays , July 2019

Overall Rating

2.8

out of 5

Location - Dark

Stayed at this lodge for 3 nights June 2019. Lodge was ok, however the location was very dark & gloomy. Far too many huge trees preventing any light to the lodge or decking, Huge large branches hanging above the Hot tub had. The kitchen blind was broken so couldnt even pull them up to try n let any light or sunshine in. Was lovely to actually get away from that area & into the other lighter areas of the park where various friends were staying. Its a shame really, cos the actual lodge itself was ok, fab shower, warm, comfy beds, all good. Wifi chronic!! Virtually non existent. Outside decking/veranda in need of some tlc! Unfortunately - I wouldn't stay at that lodge again, however Whitecross is nice.

Review date: 17th June 2019

Overall Rating

4.7

out of 5

Great week looking forward to the same time next year

I enjoy White Cross because of its location on the side of Windermere. We have been coming now for a few years. Every year I have moaned about having to either freeze or get bitten alive by the midges sitting outside the club, because Park Dean did not allow dogs in the club, well this year this has changed, Park Deans have allocated an area for Dogs, Well Done Park Dean.

Review date: 07th June 2019

Overall Rating

4.3

out of 5

Stay

Lovely stay at this lodge, the only issue was during our stay the kids wanted to go on the aqua jets, however even though advertised and being told by staff they were on (including delaying travelling home on our last day) they were never on.

Review date: 06th January 2019

Thank you for the review, Leanne. It is pleasing to hear the lodge was to your satisfaction and you had a lovely stay. Your further comments have been passed on to the park management for their information and we are sorry to hear of your experience. As we are the booking agent to this privately-owned lodge, the Park facilities and any activities organised by the park are something outside of our control. We can only assume that the issue has been resolved as we have had no further comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Rivendell is great place for families, as a base to explore the Lakes or simply to relax and unwind – the hot tub is so relaxing!

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays , January 2019

Overall Rating

4.8

out of 5

Christmas Hottub Weekend

We wanted a relaxing weekend away with our boys and dogs as we were moving house just before Christmas and wanted to destress before we got stressed again and it delivered on everything. Great space, great location, comfortable, great hottub, even the rain didn’t disappoint! Would definitely book again.

Review date: 18th December 2018

Overall Rating

3

out of 5

Enjoyable getaway, 2 adults 1 child

Very good stay, staff pleasant, bar/restaurant good, i thought the takeaway system was good (delivery would have made it perfect! As you have to wait in the restaurant at a table for it to be ready then take it yourself back to the lodge.) Lodge was nice, cleaniless not 100percent but overall a good stay and would go again!

Review date: 05th October 2018

Overall Rating

3.2

out of 5

Thought A BBQ was included , but on finding out it was the owners, should remove from Picture .

Not bad a bit more cleaning by cleaners would be better, bathroom bin not empty , blinds need a good clean , Other than that had a Good holiday .

Review date: 21st September 2018

Thank you for your review, Susan. We take on board all you have said and apologise that a few things were not quite right for you, although it is pleasing to hear you had a good holiday. With regard to the BBQ, as detailed on our website we ask that guests bring a disposable to use on the slab or stone provided. This is due to guests not cleaning owner’s BBQ’s and complaints received. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and we will certainly look at ways to make this clearer in future. We note your comments regarding the cleanliness and we apologise that a couple of things had been overlooked. We have spoken with the housekeeper so as to ensure something similar does not happen again. Furthermore, we will be monitoring the cleaning company more closely in future. Rivendell is a three-bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub, and a great location for exploring the Lake District or taking dogs on walks! We are delighted you would recommend the lodge to others, thank you. Perhaps we will welcome you again in the near future?

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays, September 2018

Overall Rating

4.8

out of 5

Amazing stay

The lodge was lovely and clean, everything we needed for a weekend break and perfect location. Would definitely stay again!

Review date: 30th July 2018

Overall Rating

4.8

out of 5

The Mackinnon's @Rivendell family holiday 02-09 July 2018

The rivendell lodge was brilliant great location and was very spacious inside, we went for the 6 berth as I have 2 teenagers one being a boy of 17 and a daughter of 13 so they had there own rooms which was great as they had there own space. The lodge itself was great plenty of parking with easy access to it and was easy to find, however there was some areas which are needing attention such as the decking and fence just a coat of paint. The other thing was that the swing chair had no cushion on it but when u look at the photo it has a blue and white cushion on it but we could not find it. The other thing was when going for something to eat the time we waited was 45 minutes at the club house but it was worth it as the food was nice and other thing is that u have too book the swimming with the lifeguard as u could not just walk in, apart from that we had a lovely time weather was brilliant and will definitely book again for next year but will try another lodge.

Review date: 16th July 2018

Thank you for the review, Robert and it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay. Rivendell is a great lodge for families as it is super equipped and spacious, complete with hot tub. Ideal as a family retreat or a great location for exploring the Lakes. We will pass on your suggestions for improvement to the lodge owners for their reference, thank you for these. Whilst the swing seat has been removed and we apologise for any inconvenience caused, the lodge is equipped with outdoor furniture to comfortably accommodate six guests. We note your further comments relating to Park facilities and services and although these are something outside of our control as booking agents, thank you for letting us know and we will also pass these on to the park management for their reference. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable family holiday and thank you for recommending the lodge to others. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again next year.

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays, July 2018

Overall Rating

3.8

out of 5

Holiday cleanliness

Couldn't use hot tub as all things from trees were falling in and felt dirty. Lots of cob webs in living room. Beds were comfy though. Decking covered in things from trees. No canopy on rocking swing chair as displayed on pics. Wasn't clear on where to park car

Review date: 04th June 2018

Thank you for your review, Sarah. We note all you have said and apologise that a few things were not quite right for you. We are disappointed that you did not contact us at the time which meant we were not able to rectify these issues for you. With particular reference to the hot tub, although it is serviced daily by an independent contractor, we would have gladly asked the contractor to return to check the tub and put your mind at rest. We do advise that guests replace the lid after each use as it helps limit tree debris falling in. This particular lodge is situated beneath a tree and is therefore susceptible to leaves and twigs falling. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused and please note for future reference, a quick call to us and we will gladly rectify any issues you may have. Our aim is that guests have an enjoyable experience and we will do our utmost to put things right. We have passed on your comment about the canopy to the lodge owners for their reference – thank you for letting us know. Thank you for your further comments on parking and we will certainly look to see if this can be made clearer. Rivendell is a spacious three bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub and a great location for exploring the beautiful Lakes. We are sure that any future stays you may have will be to your satisfaction.

Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays, June 2018

See 64 more reviews for Rivendell

Location

About White Cross Bay, Windermere

Stay in a lodge or log cabin at White Cross Bay. Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere it is one of the most popular park locations in the very heart of the Lake District.

For more detailed information about White Cross Bay, Windermere please Click here.

Lodge Position